A Salute to Boston: Watch Us Rise

It has been very difficult to sleep since the bombing in Boston. Yet the insomnia I am experiencing is nothing compared to the unbelievable horror being felt by so many families whose loved ones have either lost their lives or were seriously injured.

Like many I often feel helpless, and on the night of the bombing my 9-y-o said, “I just feel the need to write a poem. it is all I can do.” I told him to do what he can, and it is the same encouragement I would give to anyone else struggling with how to help.

For my part I decided to compile some of the pictures I have taken over the years in Boston, many long before I even knew the proper way to hold a camera. But this has absolutely nothing to do with stellar photography. I want to showcase my hometown, my city, the only state I have ever lived in the United States. This is but a sliver of Boston – watch us rise.

“The Red Sox are a religion. Every year we re-enact the agony and the temptation in the Garden. Baseball child’s play? Hell, up here in Boston it’s a passion play.”

27Image_3255

Red Auerbach, statue at Faneuil Hall, Boston


_MG_1012_Edit

IMG_5409_Edit

Our Patriots and Pilgrims are really cool

“Courage, then, my countrymen, our contest is not only whether we ourselves shall be free, but whether there shall be left to mankind an asylum on earth for civil and religious liberty.”

IMG_4656_EditIMG_4778

 

IMG_4917

IMG_4880Never again

“….they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out – because I was not a Jew; then they came for me – and there was no one left to speak out for me”

IMG_4925_Edit

 

 

The music is pretty eclectic

IMG_4733 IMG_4447_Edit

The Cradle of Liberty also has great shopping

_MG_0834_Edit

In Boston, there are lots of famous people to hang out with (and graves to visit)

IMG_4730 IMG_4731 IMG_5314 IMG_5400_Edit

We also have lookouts and a commander-in-chief (just in case)

IMG_1557

IMG_5228_Edit

We believe in industry

IMG_5343_Edit

“I love like a leaf in the wind. Please, hold your applause until the end of the performance…. 
”

IMG_5212_Edit

Sailing is in our blood.

_MG_0205

_MG_6541IMG_6629_Edit_MG_6525

We are child friendly

IMG_4863_MG_0895_Edit_MG_6611_Edit

and bike friendly

IMG_4904_Edit_MG_1005

We believe in freedom, and freedom of speech

IMG_1619 IMG_1636

We welcome immigrants, and the poor, and the hungry

IMG_1640 IMG_1638

We are a city of first responders (just look for the helpers)

IMG_1611 IMG_4751_Edit

IMG_1541

IMG_4714

We are Bostonians, and we will keep going!

“…Watch me rise like smoke from fire.

Watch me fly above your hate.

Watch me dance upon your meanness,

like a ballerina with posture and grace.

Watch me laugh over your hatred

Watch me soar…”

3 Comments on “A Salute to Boston: Watch Us Rise

Leave a Reply

