My Aegean Vacation Escape: “Mamma Mia”

“The isles of Greece, the isles of Greece! / Where burning Sappho loved and sung, / Where grew the arts of war and peace, / Where Delos rose, and Phoebus sprung! / Eternal summer gilds them yet, / But all, except their sun, is set.”

I love to travel, and lately I have been doing some solo trips. The trips are a reward for a full-year of being a mom, and spouse. I know – life is not fair. My solo trips allow me to set my own pace, breathe, dictate my own schedule, and spend some time with me.

There are downsides to a solo trip, the most consistent being the language barrier. In most places I am fortunate to find someone who speaks English, and more importantly is willing to help me. There are generous individuals the world over.

The second problem I typically run into – and this is in my role as photographer – is that I am unable to go out at dusk or dawn, the best times to take awesome pictures. I am adventurous, but I am consistent in going places that are generally safe, going during daylight hours, and observing reasonable standards of safety. It is hard at times, but it is the trade-off for a solo vacation. Plus, in the back of my head I want my family – with reasonable certainty – to be able to say, “she would never go out at night alone.” It gives them peace of mind, and it is something I want them to have.

Whenever I edit pictures from some of my trips, I envision how great they could be, if only they had the proper light, a tripod, and fewer distractions, and on and on I go. But lately I have stopped myself; I am there to refresh, to decompress, to rest, to “smell the roses.” The pictures are merely incidental, a reminder that I visited, but the best moments are in my heart.

The following are some of the incidentals from my trip to Greece. I stayed in Athens, and visited a few of the islands. Hydra was my favorite. Enjoy!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

